“On average, people tell lies between two and three times a day, students being the more frequent liars.” Gozna et al

I lie very often at work. I work as a social care worker for the local council. At work we are faced with situations which require us not to tell the entire truth. Lying to elderly people, or not telling them the entire truth is not justified. Although they have the right to know the truth, telling them the truth would only hurt them – which is unnecessary. People with dementia who forget what was being said to them, do not need to hear often the hurtful truth. Often not telling them the truth means they are happier, and not sadened by what was being said.

The body language of the clients is always very easy to read. They lean towards me – this shows me they want to find out information. They often touch me on the arm – this shows they trust I will help them. Their facial expressions show the eyebrows being raised, eyes open wide. Sometimes people even cry and make non-verbal vocalizations.

My body language at the point of lying (or not telling them the entire truth) is often mirroring theirs. I would often lean towards them. I would mimic their facial expressions, touch their arms back to show my support and the fact that I try to understand what they are going through. This reassures them. Often I would also make non-verbal vocalizations such as “ohhhh” to show sympathy.

I feel horrible when I have to lie especially that they trust I will tell the truth. All that I’m trying to do is to safe them from pain, because even if we do tell them the truth, they will hurt for a while, forget and soon ask again – telling them the truth again will only hurt them again.

